Testing your mission before you pay

Testing your mission from a scout's perspective before you start collecting data from research participants gives you the chance to double check your mission design and ensure you're set up for success. These first 5 invites are free for you and four of your colleagues or friends to take your mission for a spin within 5 days. At the end of the 5 days, if you haven’t invited your 6th scout to start your research and pay for your mission, then your mission will be closed automatically.


How this works

After building a dscout mission, you can invite yourself and up to 4 other colleagues or clients to test it without being charged! Once these folks are invited, they'll get an email from dscout with directions for downloading the dscout mobile app from the App Store or Google Play.

They'll have 5 days to see exactly what your scouts will see and can even create entries. If you're happy with the mission design after trying it out, just visit your scout management page and invite the scouts you'd like to participate. When your 6th person is invited, dscout will charge you $295 for the mission. Otherwise, if you haven’t invited more than 5 people, the mission will be closed automatically at the end of the 5 day test period.

Making changes to your mission

If, after launching a mission and inviting up to 5 people to test it, you find opportunities to improve your mission design, you can still make changes before paying for it. All you have to do is close the mission, navigate to your project dashboard, copy the closed mission, make all the edits you'd like and then launch your new-and-improved mission! 

For step by step instructions, take a look at the article on how to copy a mission.

Skipping this option and launching immediately with participants

It's HIGHLY recommended that you at least invite yourself to test your mission before inviting all your participants. But if you use dscout regularly and don't want to try your mission out from a scout's perspective first, you can invite ALL your participants to your mission and pay $295 right away.

PRO TIP: You have the option to "invite immediately," which means scouts will automatically be sent an invitation email and can access the mission in the dscout mobile app. To do this, just toggle this option ON and customize your invite message. You will be prompted to pay $295 for your mission if you’re inviting more than 5 folks.

If you don’t want to invite your scouts just yet, you can toggle the "invite immediately" option OFF to just import them into dscout. You can still invite them individually or all at once to your mission later!

Why you can't test drive with scouts

The first 5 people who test drive your mission need to be you (of course), colleagues, clients, or friends. Otherwise, we'd risk confusing scouts who have no way of knowing you're testing out your mission before inviting all of your participants. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us